Travel Diaries #1

Hello Guys! So it’s time for my first travel post. Well it’s not really a big destination, I went there for my college’s research work, but I felt that I should share this on my diary. So I actually went to India Gate, New Delhi for my assignment (Don’t Ask). This is just a small post, and so I’m not considering this as one of my alternate day schedule, so one another post will be up in few hours.

While I was there I realised how less are people aware about the place and by people I mean Indians too. 97% of the people we interacted have no idea what the place is. So I thought that through my blog I should share this information with everyone around the world.

So very basic info that one should know, India Gate is a war memorial designed by the american architect Edwin Lutyens, for those who don’t know, Lutyens is known for his designing of Delhi, that’s the reason Delhi is a.k.a Lutyen’s Delhi. He not only designed the gate but also the Viceroy’s House, Rashtrapati Bhavan (President’s Official Residence), Parliament House,etc.

India Gate is a memorial dedicated to all those soldiers who lost their lives during World War 1. It has names of 13,516 Indian and British Soldiers. It’s a Triumphal arch style of Architecture based on close lines with Arch de Triomphe in Paris. Now below the arch is Amar Jawan Jyoti which is an eternal flame burning all day in honor of the dead.

That’s it, I don’t want my blog to turn into a lesson. The best part at India Gate are the luscious green lawns all around it so it’s a great picnic spot! You can relax there during summer evenings and winter afternoon.

So if you’re planning to visit India, anytime soon, don’t forget to visit the place, it’s a must! You can reach India gate via cab from any part of Delhi. However if you’re taking a metro, then stop on central Secretariat on Yellow line or Barakhamba Road on blue Line, from there you can grab an auto with a fair not costing more than 40-50 INR.

Leave a Reply

